Dwelling to live.

Paul Johannes Tillich, American theologian and philosopher, appositely noted already in 1960 a point that plays a significant role today: “We live not to dwell, but dwell to live.” It sounds simple and logical and fortunately is increasingly becoming a key issue of contemporary development projects.

The design emerging from an investor contest is indeed breathtaking and beautiful at the same time, perceiving the Allmend as an abundance of free space and serving the general public for a vast array of needs as an important, attractive field of greenery in Lucerne. The project encompassing the overall complex, comprising football stadium, sports facility and HOCHZWEI stands for an open real estate development site, placing the condensed various building volumes in the expanse of the Allmend space.

Noteworthy are the smooth and organic shapes of the high-rise buildings that subsist entirely without any sharp corner formations in the building structure. Each perspective paints a different picture for the observer. The building shell outwardly appears like compact, tight-fitting skin. The balconies are visible only at second glance, concealed in incisions behind the vertical aluminium profiles. Gold and blue tones dominate the colour scheme, lending the overall ensemble a modern and, at the same time, noble stature.

Wohnen um zu Leben.

Paul Johannes Tillich, amerikanischer Theologe und Philosoph, hielt schon 1960 treffend fest, was uns heute wichtig ist – wir wohnen nicht, um zu wohnen, sondern wir wohnen, um zu leben. Klingt einfach und logisch und wird glücklicherweise immer mehr zu einem zentralen Thema zeitgemässer Projektentwicklung.

Der aus einem Investorenwettbewerb hervorgegangene Entwurf ist atemberaubend und schön zugleich. Er versteht die Allmend als grossen Freiraum, welcher der Allgemeinheit für viele verschiedene Bedürfnisse dient und in Luzern eine wichtige, attraktive Grünfläche ist. Das Projekt der Gesamtanlage mit Fussballstadion, Sportgebäude und HOCHZWEI steht für eine offene Bebauung, welche die verschiedenen Gebäudevolumen konzentriert in die Weite des Allmendraumes platziert.

Auffallend sind die weichen und organischen Formen der Hochhäuser, die gänzlich ohne scharfe Eckausbildungen der Baukörper auskommen. Aus jeder Perspektive zeigt sich dem Betrachter ein anderes Bild. Die Gebäudehülle präsentiert sich von aussen wie eine kompakte, eng anliegende Haut. Erst auf den zweiten Blick werden die Balkone sichtbar, die sich hinter den vertikalen Aluminiumprofilen in Einschnitten verbergen. Gold- und Blautöne dominieren die Farbgebung, die dem gesamten Ensemble eine moderne und zugleich edle Gestalt verleihen.